Senior Call Check Program

Maryland is the first state in the country to start a free, opt-in, telephonic service to check on Maryland’s older residents, all across the state.​
Maryland Department of Aging FREE for Maryland Residents 65 and older. Senior Call Check. 1-800-50-CHECK or aging.maryland.gov
 

HOW DOES IT WORK?

Every day a telephone call will be placed to a participant at a regularly scheduled time. These calls will take place between 8 a.m. and 4 p.m. as close as possible to the one-hour time block pre-selected by the participant. If the participant does not answer their first call, they will be tried two more times. If those calls go unanswered, additional calls will be made to notify an alternative person who is selected by the participant during program enrollment. This could be an adult child, a neighbor, or another loved one. The alternate will then be encouraged to check on the older adult program participant. The failure of the participant and alternate to answer may result in a Welfare Check by local law enforcement. 

***ATTENTION IN RESPONSE TO THE COVID-19 PANDEMIC***

We recommend all seniors use the program as a resource during the COVID-19 global pandemic. Senior Call Check phone lines are open M-F 8 am-5 pm and Saturday 9 am-3 pm.  During these hours, seniors can call toll-free 1-866-50-CHECK (1-866-502-0560) and register.  

•         The verification and enrollment process can be completed within 24 hours Monday – Saturday.

•         We will provide messages and updates regarding the COVID-19 outbreak.

•         Finally, regarding our emergency preparedness for handling possible disruption from COVID-19, we can provide you information at this time of need.

WHO CAN PARTICI​PATE?


Any Maryland resident who is 65 years of age or older who has a landline phone or cell phone (TTY is available). The participant and alternates should not have automated call blocking technology (or they should disable that phone feature for this program).

WHO IS AN ALTERNATE?

An alternate is a person you have selected to be called in the Senior Call Check program in the event you do not answer your automated call after 3 attempts. This person must be a reliable emergency contact, such as an adult child, responsible neighbor, or close relative. It is helpful to discuss the program with your alternate and explain their responsibility in being a support for you in the event you need help and do not pickup your daily call. If you do not have an alternate or they don't pickup, that's okay too. The program will notify your local non-emergency service after multiple attempts to reach you and your alternate.

HOW TO APPLY?

Three options available to apply:

1. Click on REGISTER NOW below.
OR
2. Go to RESOURCES below; download & print Maryland Senior Call Check Paper Application to mail in.
OR
3. Call toll-free (866)-502-0560 and ask to have a hard copy application mailed to your home. 

WHEN DO CALLS BEGIN?

Daily calls will not begin until the applicant/participant receives a call to verify all of their information. Verification will include a successful test automated call to both the participant and alternate where applicable. After all, information is validated, a Welcome Packet will be mailed to your home address. The welcome letter will include your start date.

RESOURCES 


CLICK THE LINK BELOW TO REGISTER

Register Now 

For Maryland residents who qualify for the program but who do not have access to the Maryland Department of Aging website, www.aging.maryland.gov, you may call our toll-free number to register by phone: 1 (866) 502-0560.

If an application is denied, the applicant will be informed. If an application is accepted, the applicant will be enrolled as a participant and informed when the daily call checks will begin.

 

 Senior Call Check FAQ

 

Does this program cost anything?

 

​No, this is a FREE service provided by the Maryland Department of Aging

Who can sign up for this program?

 

Any Maryland resident aged 65 years or older who has access to a telephone. The Participant themselves may only sign up for this program. 

When will I receive the daily automated call?

 

​The program will provide a daily automated call between the hours of 8-10 AM and 2-4 PM. You may select a one-hour block of time during which you will receive the call. The system will call as close to that hour as possible 

Options to choose are: 

  • ​8-9 AM
  • 9-10 AM
  • 2-3 PM
  • 3-4 PM

Who is a good alternate person?

 

​This person must be a reliable emergency contact, such as an adult child, responsible neighbor, or close relative. 

How long does it take to be approved for the program?

 

Once enrolled, approval for the program may take 4-6 weeks. ​

What if I am on the phone during my daily call?

 

If you are on the phone during the time of your daily call check, the program will call you back. Please be available to answer the call every day.​ 

Does this service provide the same functionality as other medical alert or distress signals?

 

No, this free program does not provide the same functionality as all other alert or distress systems. Some of them provide live operator responses and will call 911 for you. Senior Call Check will not.​

What happens if I don't pick up the phone when the daily call comes in?

 

The system will call you back up to 2 additional times. If there is still no answer, the system will then call your alternate contact.  If your alternate does not answer the call or alternates phone does not ac​cept a voicemail, the program will notify your local non-emergency service.​

Will there be different language options available?

 

The only current language option is English. However this may change​

Will the daily call come from the same phone number every day?

 

The daily call will come from the same phone number each day. Once you receive your first call, you can program that number into your phone to help identify future calls. ​

Can I put the calls on hold if I go on vacation?

 

Yes, you must place a temporary hold on calls by calling 1-866-502-0560. Please allow at least three business days for new information to update.

You may not request more than 30 consecutive days or you will be automatically dis-enrolled.


How do I disenroll from the program?

 

You may dis-enroll from the program at any given time. Please note that it may take up to 7 days to confirm and process a disenrollment request. You can dis-enroll by calling 1-866-502-0560  

​​

 

​​​​